Recommend – “It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways,” by Melissa Hartwig and Dallas Hartwig

I recommend – “It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways,” by Melissa Hartwig and Dallas Hartwig.

Why is this book different than all the other books on weight loss? Because its about nutrition – its about how the body uses food and it doesn’t count calories.

I found this book when I traveled to Boonsboro, MD last July, 2013, while browsing at Turn The Page Bookstore (website = ttpbooks.com).

On the flight to see Nora Roberts I realized just how over weight I was. When you have trouble getting the airplane seat belt on you know you need to do something. Only trouble with this idea is I’ve tried so many things in my 50 something years I really had given up hope. The last time I tried a diet I did fine while I could walk – lost over 50 pounds then my hip started hurting so bad couldn’t even lift it over the tub. So found nothing wrong at the doctor just instructions to ice it. Well, I sure didn’t want to be in a situation where I couldn’t function again – answer – stop walking and soon gained back with a vengeance, what I lost and a good 5 more.

That was 2008, so now in 2013 I’m in Boonsboro and see this book on “It Starts with Food…” and I thought yes – that’s what I need to know how is the food I eat affecting me – so picked it up and it changed my life.

This book works. The part I like best is learning how the body processes food. When I realize that the body is really just the vehicle that gets my soul and spirit around then I see how I can manage my food as fuel. From July to October I lost over 50 pounds with no extra exercise just following It Starts with Food.

My weight loss stabilized there mainly because I ran out of fresh food from the farmer’s market (took me a while to realize how to fix this was just get some low calorie vegetables to substitute) and (main reason) I tend to reward myself with sweets during the holidays – that is going to stop. The body doesn’t need food rewards. The mind doesn’t either – so soul and spirit – my core is going to realize this. You are able to change behavior – I’ve done this with meditation so I’ll apply it to food as fuel principle as well.

I can’t tell you how much better I feel at 209 than I did at 255 or so (my height is 5’3″). Lost 8″ off my waist – this makes life so much easier. I’m not done – I will lose more. I signed up for the March of Dimes walk and have started measuring my steps. I’m working toward doing at least 2500 steps a day to start out. I still have the hip issue but not as bad as it once was and this time I’m finding answers to how to fix it.

I’m sharing all this to help out others who struggle with weight. When you get this book and really read it (very readable by the way – guides you to the sections you need most if you don’t need to be convinced) you’ll begin to realize why you gained the weight in the first place. This isn’t about a lack of will-power or laziness its about getting the nutrition your body is able to use efficiently.

Even with my adding sugar back (you don’t need it – I proved that to myself for 3 months) I didn’t gain back – I just stopped losing. So this program works on how the body breaks down the food.

Hope you are able to get this book – here’s some links to find it:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/it-starts-with-food-melissa-hartwig/1110912642?ean=9781936608898

Another good book to help you with changing behavior for the better is:

I’ll write more about these books both contain excellent advice on how to be your best. The first one covers the basics of meditation and the 2nd gives you stories and lessons to help you get the key concepts that will help your mind and body perform more efficiently. Weight loss that last means a lifestyle change. It’s never to soon to eat right – don’t wait until you’re over 50 to begin your journey to better health.

7 responses to “Recommend – “It Starts with Food: Discover the Whole30 and Change Your Life in Unexpected Ways,” by Melissa Hartwig and Dallas Hartwig

  1. Melissa, you are so inspiring to me, and I am so happy for you and proud of you with all the wonderful changes you’ve made in your life and health. Thank you for sharing this information for everyone who struggles with food! {{{{HUGS}}}}

  2. Pingback: #LetsMove Update – Lost 4 more pounds | Melissa Blanchard Book Corner

  3. Pingback: Melissa Blanchard Book Corner

  4. Wonderful post but I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Kudos!

Comments welcome